Tuesday, March 8, 2011

Love Languages

Do you know your love language?

I had heard of this several years ago when the book came out, but really just took a look at it for the first time recently. For those of you who have i Phones, there is a Focus on the Family application that has daily broadcasts of topics for bettering families. One that we listened to recently was that about Love Languages. Each person has at least one love language, in which they feel like if you do those things with them or for them, that you are showing your love.

1. Words of Affirmation
2. Quality Time
3.  Receiving Gifts
4. Acts of Service
5. Physical Touch

They pretty much speak for themselves, but the whole idea is to have a better relationship with your spouse by knowing their love language as well as your own. You can think that you are showing love to someone by the way you like it shown to you, when in reality, it doesn't mean anything to them. In other words, if you like to receive gifts, and so you are constantly buying things for your partner, if that isn't their love language it isn't really showing them that you love them.

After Jordan and I had this conversation, our pastor spoke on this at church on Sunday. He also told about how love languages can evolve over time depending on what stage of life you may be going through. This is such an interesting concept because often times we forget to think about how we are showing our partner we love them. We get so wrapped up in situations in our own lives that we get a little selfish.

My friend Kelcie just wrote on a similar topic about marriage on her blog. Check it out! 

Marriage isn't always easy and it definitely requires work. I have a great marriage and we are totally blessed by God, but it's not perfect. I encourage you to get to know your family's love languages. You can take a quiz on the website above if you aren't sure.

Have a great day!


  1. I love this book! Matt and I went through it when we first got married! You can also get a daily devotional that is wonderful!

  2. Derek and I have talked so much about this!

    At a MOPs meeting last fall, they discussed learning your child's love language. At first I thought it was crazy and then I got to thinking about all of the little rocks Anna-Kate would pick up and give to Derek. And I thought about how much Thomas needs to snuggle and how much more comfort he needs when he falls down. And I realized Anna-Kate's love language must be gifts and Thomas' is physical touch. It's actually really helped me with the way I handle them.


Blogging tips